Puebla 2-0 Xolos: Liguilla seems far away

The team continues with their dry spell outside of Estadio Caliente

PUEBLA, PUEBLA.- Club Tijuana Xolos continues not being able to win while on the road, and got a new defeat, now in the hands of Puebla at Estadio Cuauhtemoc by a 2-0 score.

The game

The first minutes were pure red and black color, with many opportunities to get players into the score sheet but the team doesn't have a central forward and suffers from it.

During the first 20 minutes, shots made by Fernando Arce and Raul Enriquez gave hope to the Tijuana fans, but goalkeeper Jorge Villalpaldo was spectacular when required.

Captain, Javier Gandolfi, got injured during the first quarter of the first half and left Tijuana without its best defender; Oliver Ortiz was substituted in but while he was just getting ready at minute 23, Matias Alustiza from Puebla was able to leave him and goalkeeper Cirilo Saucedo behind to score the first goal of the match.

Tijuana pressed hard at front, but time ran out and the first half was over.

The match during the second half wasn't as spectacular as during the first 45 minutes, with Tijuana looking aggressive with Paul Arriola and Herculez Gomez entering the field, but Puebla was superior in speed.

The bad condition of the field made Tijuana tired at the end and at the 83' mark, ex Xolos Alfredo Moreno passed the ball to Carlos Sanchez, who was able to shot from outside the area, scoring the second goal of the day for the poblanos.

Javier Guemez was sent off, leaving Tijuana with many absences for the game against America, as the player from Sinaloa, Javier Gandolfi, Fernando Arce and Dario Benedetto, will be absent from the match at Estadio Azteca on Tuesday.


Puebla: Jorge Villalpando; Damarcus Beasley, Jonathan Lacerda, Michael Orozco, Jesús Chávez (Nicolás Ruvalcaba 26´), Oscar Rojas; Diego de Buen, Carlos Sánchez, Luis Noriega; Matias Alustiza (Alberto Medina 65´) y Alfredo Moreno (Félix Borja 86´). DT: Ruben Omar Romano

Xolos: Cirilo Saucedo; Juan Carlos Núñez, Javier Gandolfi (Oliver Ortíz 18´), Pablo Aguilar, Edgar Castillo; Javier Güemez, Fernando Arce, Joe Corona (Paul Arriola 45´); Aldo Polo, Fidel Martínez y Raúl Enríquez (Hérculez Gómez 55´). DT: Jorge Almirón



  • Facebook

  • SanDiegoRed

  • New

  • Best

    Recent News more