Leon 5-0 Xolos: Tijuana was humiliated

The border squad ended its participation in the 2013 Apertura tournament and didn't make it to Playoffs

SAN DIEGO, CA.- With a goal against at half time, and knowing that Queretaro won against Pachuca, leaving Tijuana out of the race for a Playoff spot; Club Tijuana was powerless against a fierce Leon squad and ended up losing 5-0 in the 2013 Apertura last match day.

The game

The first 15 minutes of play showed both teams eager to score and open up the scoreboard early, but it was Leon who dominated the ball and had more chances to score.

At the 24th minute, captain Javier Gandolfi committed a foul close to the kick off line, just outside the area; Dario Burbano took the free kick and Pablo Cesar Aguilar lost his man, and let Mauro Boselli free in the area to just jump and with a header put his name on the score-sheet, 1-0.

Tijuana answered with a quick attack which ended up in Richard Ruiz running through the right wing to sent the ball to the second post; Fidel Martinez couldn't kick the ball inside the goal, and just saw the ball roar to the other side of the field.

And 5 minutes before the break, Matias Britos scored the second goal of the night, heating up the nerves of the visiting team and Manager Jorge Almiron was sent off just after the half time whistle.

After knowing that Queretaro won, hence seeing Tijuana out of the race for a Playoff spot, the team gave up and saw how at the 50th minute Britos scored his second goal of the night, after dribbling the ball pass Cirilo Saucedo.

Lacking discipline, Xolos started to foul its rival and this let to Benedetto being sent off after a big hit against Mauricio Castañeda.

Tijuana lost control of the game and Leon dominated the rest of the time, with two more goals, one at the 84th minute from Boselli, scoring his hat trick, and another at the 90th minute with Boselli taking advantage of a weak defensive line.

The referee ended the game and Xolos will have to wait for the 2014 Clausura tournament to try to make it to Playoffs.


León: William Yarbrough; Jonny Magallón, Juan Carlos Pineda, Ignacio González (Arturo Ortíz 86'), Fernando Navarro; Hernán Burbano, José Vázquez (Luis Delgado 88´), Mauricio Castañeda (Fausto Arizala 64´), Elías Hernández; Matías Britos y Mauro Boselli. DT: Gustavo Matosas.

Tijuana: Cirilo Saucedo; Juan Carlos Núñez, Javier Gandolfi, Pablo Aguilar, Edgar Castillo; Cristian Pellerano (Emmanuel Cerda 60´), Aldo Polo, Javier Güemez; Richard Ruíz (Diego Olsina 69´), Fidel Martínez (Paul Arriola 55´) Darío Benedetto . DT: Jorge Almirón.



  • Facebook

  • SanDiegoRed

  • New

  • Best

    Recent News more