One year anniversary of Tijuana Xolos championship

On this date last year Xolos won the Liga MX title.


TIJUANA - On December 2 of 2012 Club Tijuana Xoloitzcuintles traveled to Toluca and defeated the home side by a score of 0-2 with goals from Richard Ruiz and Duvier Riascos to win the Apertura 2012 Liga MX title.

Exactly one year later the Xolos come back from vacation and begin preparations for the preseason heading into the Apertura 2014 season.

Since that league title one year ago Tijuana Xolos have enjoyed the participation in various international tournaments. With the glare of the championship trophy still shining in their eyes, the Xoloitzcuintles began their participation in the 2013 Copa Libertadores; where they were a penalty kick away from advancing to the semifinals and eliminating eventual champions Atletico Mineiro.

In mid-2013 Xolos also started their participation in the 2013/14 CONCACAF Champions League. Tijuana won their group and have advanced to the quarterfinals stage of the competition which will resume in March of 2014.

Looking forward Club Tijuana will want to head into 2014 with the clear intentions of once again making the Liga MX playoffs to fight for another league title. The Xolos spent the entire 2013 without making the Mexican league playoffs. They’ll also have their sight set on winning the CONCACAF Champion’s League as that would allow the border town team to participate in the 2014 FIFA Club World Cup.

Relive the celebration parade of that 2012 Championship.

Find all Tijuana Xolos news in English here.

Stay connected to San Diego Red through Facebook and Twitter. (@jonyrico)



  • Facebook

  • SanDiegoRed

  • New

  • Best

    Recent News more